Weekly Recap

My Time as a Journalist || Weekly Recap #3

Hello my lovely readers! How are you?

If you do not follow my twitter, you will be unaware of the reason why I did not post last week. I spent my week doing work experience at the Herald Sun, Victoria’s leading newspaper! I had such an amazing, unforgettable experience, and I got to see first-hand what it’s like to be a journalist! I thought it would be good to do a recap on how the week went, and what I got to do in the Herald Sun.

Monday:
The lovely man taking us for the work experience week was retired journalist, Chris De Kretser. He had been in the business for over fifty years, and had worked as a journalist and editor in pretty much every department in the newspaper. He told me (along with four other students on work experience) about the history of journalism and newspapers, as well as his time spent travelling the world as a journo.

Keith Moor, investigative journalist, then came to talk to us about his forty years as one of the best investigative journo’s in the Herald Sun. It was amazing listening to one of my role model’s engage us in thrilling anecdotes of the past stories he has covered, some which have followed him to this day. Moor is a true inspiration, and I deeply admire his persistence and determination.

When Keith Moor left, Chris gave us the task of writing a profile on him. “Just a few paragraphs, it doesn’t need to be long,” he said. I was really nervous because I had never written a profile before, and everyone around me was typing away frantically. I felt very intimidated by everyone, but managed to push through in the end and write what I thought was a pretty good profile!

After our lunch break we got to talk to sports reporter, Peter Rolfe. Although sport isn’t my forte, I still found it immensely interesting and asked as many questions as I could think of! He was very down to earth and easy to talk to, and it was great to hear his experience. Chris wanted us to write a profile on him too, but the computers weren’t working. I must admit, I felt a bit relieved, since the first one was quite stressful!

To end the day, Chris gave us a tour of the departments we would be working in throughout the week: News, Confidential (celebrity news and gossip), Photographical, Sport, and Kids News.

Tuesday:
We started off the morning by going down to Westgate Park, where we got to have a tour of the Herald and Weekly Times printing plant. It was unbelievable to see how everything worked, and how fast it all happened, too!

In the afternoon I got to go and work in Confidential, which was one of the departments I was looking forward to most. Luke Dennehy, one of the Confidential reporters and editors, got me to transcribe an interview he did with Australian foodie, Maggie Beer. He then helped me to write a bi line on Maggie Beer, and I was extremely lucky to have it published in the Herald Sun the next day! I’m so grateful for the opportunity, and although it was very short, it means the world to me!

Since there was still 30 minutes left and no work for me to do, Dennehy got me to watch an episode of ‘Hell’s Kitchen’ and tell him my thoughts.

The train ride home was not a good one. I accidentally caught the wrong line without realising, and before I knew it I was hearing “Now arriving at Kooyong.” Where the hell is Kooyong? I frantically called my friend for her advice, and got off at the next station, trained back to the city and caught the correct train. I arrived home two hours later than usual, and I was quite upset.

Wednesday:
Wednesday was spent doing a journalism workshop! A superb journo came in, who was highly experienced in the business and had been all over the world. He told us how his career kicked off, and how he has found journalism to be!

We worked in pairs to write a fictional breaking news story in a limited amount of time, which was quite enthralling! I enjoyed it very much, and it was great to work with a fellow student who was just as eager as me.

After our lunch break Luke Dennehy came to talk to us about his career and his success. Luke is a huge inspiration, having interviewed some of the most famous Australian celebrities, international superstars and sporting sensations. His work is mind blowing, and I hope that one day I get to experience what it would be like to be a Confidential journalist and do what he does.

Once Dennehy left, we got to write a 200 word feature on Luke and his career. Since I had written the profile on Keith Moor two days beforehand, I was feeling more comfortable and confident in my writing, and pulled off a pretty good feature!

Thursday:
I spent Thursday morning working in News, which was another favourite of mine. I got listen to the conference held by all the editors of the different departments as they decided what would be in the next day’s paper. I found it very interesting but also awkward, since I was standing slightly behind them, just listening in. I didn’t know when I was supposed to leave, so I slowly just slunk away back to the woman who looking after me. It was quite embarrassing!

After the awkward conference, I went out with a lovely journalist called Jack to do the daily ‘Vox Pop.’ The ‘Vox Pop’ is a very short questionnaire we go around asking the public, asking for their thoughts. It was a great experience, and I really enjoyed myself!

The afternoon was spent in Sport, which I enjoyed, even though sport isn’t my area of expertise. Everyone was so nice and down-to-earth, and I found them very easy to talk to and have a laugh with. I used my time in Sport to help make the sporting events calendar for next year.

Friday:
The last day of my exciting week was spent in Kids News. Tamsin, the woman who ran Kids News, got me to rewrite a couple of articles in the Herald Sun newspaper to be kid-friendly version; something easier for them to comprehend! I got to record a Soundcloud audio of one of the articles too, which was pretty nerve racking!

Unfortunately I did not get to spend any time in Photographical, but I’m still very happy with everything I got to experience! I learnt so much, and I still can’t believe that I got to spend a whole week doing work experience in the place where my dream job lies. Hopefully I’ll be back there in the distant future 😉

I hope you all have had a wonderful week!

Love,

Alyssa Maree xx

IMG_2633

The Herald and Weekly Times Tower

___________________________________________

Twitter @alyyssamaree

Previous Post: Creative Writing: I Thought I Knew

Don’t forget to like, comment & subscribe if you would like to see more posts from Alyssa’s Little Corner!

 

 

One thought on “My Time as a Journalist || Weekly Recap #3

Leave a Reply

